Heritage Central Elgin

Heritage Central Elgin

Our Municipal Heritage Committee helps preserve and recognize the built and natural heritage that define Central Elgin and its past. They have inventoried all the early buildings and even recent ones that make our municipality unique. The committee is made up of representatives from each Ward, interested members of the municipality and a council representative. They meet on the fourth Wednesday of every other month usually at Sparta Church Museum, 6073 Quaker Road at 2:00 pm. The dates of the meetings for 2014 are:

  • January 22
  • March 26
  • May 28
  • September 24
  • November 26

The committee have assisted the municipality in designating 17 heritage buildings and a heritage cemetery. Designated buildings cannot have the exterior altered without the approval of the Municipal Heritage Committee. They are identified with a bronze plaque. If a person owning a designated property wishes to add something or change the exterior in any way they submit plans or attend a meeting of the committee with their plans. Once the plans have been reviewed by the Committee, the Committee will make a recommendation to Council respecting the building permit. Designated buildings are registered on the deed.

brick and mortar buildingThe committee have also begun a Clerk's List of Properties of Cultural and Heritage Value. There are currently over 20 properties on this list. These buildings have no restrictions on them as to changes the owners wish to make. If the owners wish to demolish the buildings, a demolition permit will not be issued until the Municipal Heritage Committee have had a chance to review the property and discuss the plans with the owners. The committee will then make a recommendation to council. Council has 60 days from when the demolition permit was applied for to decide whether it wishes to designate the property. If Council does not initiate the designation process, the demolition permit can be issued after the sixty days.

Property owners wishing to have their buildings recognized as of cultural or heritage significance should contact Donald Leitch so the Municipal Heritage Committee can view the property.

Voting members of the Municipal Heritage Committee are:

  • Ward 1: Dr. Craig Cole, Nigel Howcroft, John Morrow
  • Ward 2: John Martyn, Dr. Robert Burns, David Harding, Ray Martin
  • Ward 3: Jane Zavitz-Bond,
  • Ward 4: Glenn Dutton
  • Ward 5: Joan Mansell, Dot Sale
  • Council Representative: Sally Martyn

The executive are Chairman: Dr. Robert Burns, Secretary: Sally Martyn. Several other interested citizens attend the meetings as well as representatives from our 3 historical and heritage societies in Central Elgin.

summer at central elgin

Powered by CivicWeb CMS - © Copyright 2013 iCompass Technologies Inc.