The purpose of the Ontarians with Disabilities Act, 2001 (ODA) is to improve opportunities for persons with disabilities and to provide for their involvement in the identification, removal and prevention of barriers. Each municipality with a population of over 10,000 people is mandated by the ODA to form a committee to identify accessibility barriers with membership on this committee to be composed of a majority of persons with disabilities and to prepare and publish annual accessibility plans. 

The Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act, 2005(AODA) came into effect on June 13th, 2005. In addition to the requirements of the ODA, an Accessibility Standards Advisory Council advises the Province on the process for the development of accessibility standards and the progress made by Standards Development Committees in developing proposed accessibility standards.

Terms of Reference
Application Form

Multi-Year Accessibility Plan 2016-2021
The 2016-2021 Accessibility Plan outlines the Municipality's approach to ensuring that services provided will be done so in an accessible manner.  The Municipality will continue to develop inclusive workplace policies and procedures.

Central Elgin Accessibility Policy
Alternate Format Request
Complaint/Suggestion Form

Accessibility Working Group

As per the ODA legislation, the County of Elgin and the Municipality of Central Elgin formed a Joint Accessibility Advisory Committee in 2002 known as the Elgin/Central Elgin Joint Accessibility Advisory Committee (JAAC). The Committee consists of five (5) persons representing all geographic areas of the County of Elgin with the majority of membership being persons with disabilities. Present members include:  Doug Mayer, Chair; Deputy Mayor Sally Martyn; Albert Row; Michelle Horton; and Stephen Campbell.  Support staff that attend the meetings are Dianne Wilson, Deputy Clerk, The Municipality of Central Elgin (519-631-4860 ext. 286 or and Jennifer Cowan, County of Elgin, Accessibility Co-ordinator (519-631-1460 ext.167 or Please feel free to contact any member of the committee or staff to obtain more information on accessibility issues.
Mission Statement
JAAC has adopted the following mission statement: " To identify, remove and prevent barriers to person with disabilities who use the facilities and services of the County of Elgin and the Municipality of Central Elgin, including employees, volunteers, visitors, and all members of our Community."


We'd like to hear from you! If you have any questions or comments on our accessibility services, programs or facilities, please contact us by phone or email. 
If you require an accessible format please contact Dianne Wilson, Deputy Clerk, The Municipality of Central Elgin (519-631-4860 ext. 286 or to make arrangements.


summer at central elgin

Powered by CivicWeb CMS - © Copyright 2013 iCompass Technologies Inc.